Archived Story

DCS sets school calendar

Published 3:21pm Tuesday, May 22, 2012

Demopolis City Schools will have a spring break after all in the 2012-2013 academic year. The Demopolis City Schools Board of Education officially adopted its 2012-2013 calendar during Monday evening’s meeting.

After a much-talked-about legislative bill affixed the start and end dates of the school calendar statewide, Demopolis City Schools calendar committee went back to work to put together a schedule that would preserve most holidays while still maintaining the required number of classroom and professional development days.

Under the amended calendar, teachers will get five professional development days during Institute from Monday, Aug. 13 through Friday, Aug. 17.

Students will return to school Monday, Aug. 20.

The first break for students and teachers will come for the Labor Day holiday Monday, Sept. 3. Veterans’ Day will stand as a holiday, Monday, Nov. 12.

The calendar committee managed to preserve the traditional three-day Thanksgiving holiday, which will see students and teachers out Wednesday, Nov. 21 through Friday, Nov. 23.

The biggest adjustment between the new calendar and its predecessors will be the number of days students and teachers get during the Christmas holidays.

Students’ last day of school in the fall semester will be Friday, Dec. 21. Teachers will report Wednesday, January 2 for a professional development day while students return Thursday, Jan. 3.

The calendar preserves the Martin Luther King Jr. observance Monday, Jan. 21. Spring break for DCS will take place from March 25-March 29.

Students and teachers will get one last break Friday, April 26 for a built-in weather day.

Editor's Picks