Obituaries, July 28, 2004

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, July 28, 2004

Staff Reports

Euelle Fowler Kynard Whitfield


Email newsletter signup

Euelle Fowler Kynard Whitfield, 89, Greensboro died Sunday, July 25, 2005 at the Hale County Hospital in Greensboro. Funeral services were Monday, July 26, 2004 at the Macedonia Baptist Church with interment following in Ramey’s Chapel Cemetery. The Revs. Chris Kynard and Robert Ferguson officiated. Kirk Funeral Homes Greensboro Chapel directed. Mrs. Whitfield is survived by Sons Hugh (Betty ) Kynard of Moundville and Tom (Edna) Kynard of Greensboro; three sisters, Faye Christian of Greensboro, Odell Swartz of Tuscaloosa, Algie Stewart of Birmingham, a brother Earle Fowler of Tuscaloosa, five grandchildren, 7 great-grandchildren. Pallbearers were Matthew Kynard, Rusty Montz, Erik Montz, J.W. Kynard, Othell Lucky, Thomas Alvin Christian. Mrs. Whitfield was born on February 4, 1915. Her parents were Tom and Zella Stone Fowler. She was born in Bibb County, AL. She was preceded in death by her husband Lee Edward Kynard and Charles Edward Whitfield and her daughter Sylvia Lynn Kynard.

Nora Marcus Fondren


Graveside services for Nora Marcus Fondren, 77, who died Wednesday, July 21, 2004 at Vaughan Regional Medical Center, were July 23 at Heiberger United Methodist Church Cemetery with the Rev. James L. Waters Jr. officiating and under the direction of Kirk Funeral Home.

Visitation was from 6 until 8 p.m. July 22 at Kirk Funeral Homes Marion Chapel.

Nora Marcus Fondren was born on Aug. 21, 1926 in Chilton County. Her parents were John Arthur and Mary Curtie Gables Marcus.

She is survived by her husband George Fondren of Marion; daughter Dr. Barbara Fondren and her husband Philip Platkin of Marion; granddaughters Alexis Irene Derrington of Los Angeles, Calif., and Nora Elizabeth Shaw (Trevor) of Vernon, Conn.; three brothers James Earl Marcus of Marion, Iowa; Robert Kenneth Marcus of Foley, and John C. Massey of Foley.

Pallbearers were Howard Jacobi, Dr. Jim Dupree, Larry Jones, Philip Platkin, Robert Earl Marcus and James Stewart.