UWA Nursing graduates ready to meet their next challenge

Published 12:00 am Friday, May 7, 2004

For thirty years, since its founding in 1974, the University of West Alabama Ira D. Pruitt Division of Nursing has prepared nurses to enter the ever-changing world of healthcare.

This week a new class of graduates earned their degrees.

“You have been trained to meet the challenges of today and to make a difference in the communities in which you live,” commented UWA President Richard Holland.

Email newsletter signup

Mrs. Sylvia Homan of Demopolis, chairperson of the UWA Nursing Division, congratulated the graduates on their accomplishments and wished each graduate success in their chosen field. As each graduate was handed their diploma and presented with the traditional nurse’s pin, Mrs. Homan announced where they would begin their careers. With few exceptions, each has already been hired by a healthcare agency or hospital.

Dr. Rosemary Rhodes of the University of South Alabama School of Nursing was the guest speaker for the nursing convocation. Rhodes, a native of Meridian, encouraged the new nurses to pay particular attention to attitude and true patient care.

Several graduates were recognized for specific awards.

Carole Anne Elrod of Linden was presented the Superior Performance Award for academic achievement, clinical ability and leadership potential.

Leslie Rush of Meridian was presented the Elise Pruitt Clinical Achievement Award for excelling in the clinical area and for a positive attitude demonstrating respect for patients and clinical staff.

Haley Coaker of Vinegar Bend was presented the Montag Leadership/Service Award for her outstanding participation in campus and community organizations and for demonstrated leadership.

Pamela Sampson of Bellamy earned the Nightingale Professionalism Award for professionalism in the classroom and the clinical setting.

Scott Jones of Gallion earned the Outstanding Student Award for promoting cohesiveness among the graduating class. The Outstanding Student Award is given based on voting by the graduates.

Nursing graduates included:

Latonya Vetrice Love, Kimberly Yolanda Wilkins of York;

Amy Thrash of Livingston;

Pamela Teresa Sampson of Bellamy;

Melanie Armstrong of Geiger;

Jackie Oliver Russell of Panola;

Cecilia Clark Coleman, Bridgett Yvette Dorsey, and Sarah Elizabeth Park, all of Demopolis,

Carol Anne Elrod and Tara Nicole Wynne, both of Linden;

Joel Scott Jones of Gallion;

Erica Faye Blackston and Mirian Bumpers, both of Butler;

Sabrinia Larkin of Lisman;

Bethany Lynn Dewrell and Amanda Smith, both of Millry;

Meredith Ann Elmore of Brent;

April House of Wetumpka,

Nakema Sheree Pickett of Vineland;

Dawn Reaves-Richardson of Thomasville;

Stephanie Leigh Westbrook of Pine Hill;

Rochele Renee Williams of Mobile.