Races for city offices begin to stack up in the area

Published 12:00 am Monday, July 12, 2004

City races are beginning to heat up with candidates qualifying in municipal races.

As of Friday, here are how the races were shaping up.

In Demopolis, Mike Grayson officially entered the mayor’s race with Cecil Williamson and Stephen Gutshall. Incumbent Thomas Moore was the lone candidate in the District 1 council race. Freddie Charleston and Mitchell Congress had qualified in District 2 and Melvin Yelverton had qualified in District 3. Incumbent Woody Collins was the sole candidate qualified in District 4 and incumbent Mike Baker and Jack Cooley had qualified in the District 5 race.

Email newsletter signup

In Eutaw, Mayor Raymond Steele had reupped his paperwork, and Trudie Cox and David Simpson had entered the council’s District 2 race. Joe Lee Towell had qualified in District 4.

In Faunsdale, incumbent Mayor Sadie Stanford had qualified and incumbent council members Ida Bell Walker, Wayne Averette and Ruben Woods had turned in official qualifying documents.

Forkland’s sole qualified candidate at press time is Robert Biggs Sr., a candidate for council District 4.

In Greensboro, Melvin High Lightning and Venessa Hill had qualified in the mayor’s race. District 2 had Johnny M. Davis Sr. (I) qualified. Scott Morrison had qualified in District 4 and Valada Paige Banks (I) had qualified in District 5.

In Linden, Mayor Roy P. Vice had tossed his name into the hat with Katheryn Friday for the mayor’s race. Dennis Breckenridge (I) had qualified in District 1, Butch King (I) in District 2, and in District 3 Howard Walters (I) and Charlie Howard both qualified. Neal Jackson Sr. (I) qualified in District 4 and Ivan Allday (I) in District 5.

In Livingston, Mayor Thomas Tartt had qualified as had incumbent council members Gary Busby (D1), Hilton Ishee (D2), Carl Sudduth (D3) and Iola Williams (D5).

In Marion, no one had qualified for the mayor’s race, but incumbent District 1 councilman Spencer Hogue had qualified, as had James Hollis (I) and Edd Miree in District 2, and Willie L. Jackson (I) in District 4.

Sweet Water has had no one qualify for office.

In Thomaston, incumbent Mayor Terry Counselman and Gayle Etheridge had qualified for that race, and no one had qualified for a council race.

In Uniontown, Phillip White (I) had qualified for the mayor’s race and Sherman Norfleet (I) had qualified for the council District 2 race. Beatrice Turner (I), mary Ann Flowers and Eugene Booker had all qualified in District 4, and Don D. Moore (I) had qualified in District 3.

Qualifying information from York, Boligee, Cuba and Akron was not available.