Anderson PH finishes 15-0 in Dixie Youth “AAA”

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, June 8, 2005

Anderson Plumbing and Heating capped off an undefeated championship season in the Dixie Youth “AAA” league with an exciting 7-6 Monday night win over a valiant Windham Motors team.

Despite Anderson’s having entered the game with a 14-0 record, Windham jumped into an early 3-2 lead before a three-run Anderson rally in the bottom of the fourth. Keyed by base hits by Tanner Cox and Jake Freeman, Anderson took a 5-3 lead into the fifth and final inning.

Windham would respond in the top half, plating three runs on some opportunistic base-running and a base hit by Chance Martin. After Jack Kerby had scored the go-ahead run to put Windham on top 6-5, Anderson stopped the bleeding on a solid defensive play by catcher Tyler Charleston, who corralled a loose ball and flipped to pitcher Wesley Anderson to nab Martin at the plate.

But Anderson would answer in the bottom half of the inning. Charleston led off with a perfect drag bunt down the first base line and progressed all the way to third on the play. He was followed by Chandler Steudeman, who drew a walk and would eventually follow Charleston in coming around to score the winning run.

After the game, their 15-0 perfect season safely in the books, Anderson were awarded their first-place trophies and head coach Darren Anderson said a lot of different factors went into making their season a success.

“It’s a combination of several things,” he said. “We got some good pitching, we did a good job running the bases, and we had some good hitting. I’m proud of all of them…we had fun.”

Members of Anderson’s first-place team were Wesley Anderson, Tyler Charleston, Tanner Cox, Jake Freeman, Chandler Steudeman, Stephen Stewart, Caden Hannah, Demetrius Kemp, Jacob Nored, Lane Hawkins, and Brantley Kilgore.

Following the Anderson-Windham game ,which concluded the Dixie Youth “AAA” season, league officials named the 9-and-10 year-old All-Star team. Joining Anderson’s Cox, Freeman, Anderson, and Charleston o nthe team were Darrisu Zanders, Michael Brooker, Rob McCarter, T.J. Reese, Will Tucker, Colton Dodd, Josh Mangum, Bradley Simmons, and William Tutt. The All-Stars will be coached by Darren Anderson, Kenny Freeman, and James Charleston. Their first game will in Linden on June 25.