Student leaders organize awards ceremony

Published 12:00 am Friday, May 12, 2006

Student leaders at Demopolis High School worked together to organize the school’s “Celebration of Excellence” ceremony this spring, which was sponsored by the Principles of Leadership class and the DHS student council.

The awards ceremony held at the school on Monday, recognized over 80 DHS students with outstanding academic achievements this school year.

DHS teacher Nancy Tyson is director of the Principles of Leadership class DHS, and works with a select group of students from the tenth, eleventh and twelfth grades. Students eligible for the leadership class are either an officer in one school club, or are involved in at least two different clubs at the school.

Email newsletter signup

Twelfth-grader David Taylor is a part of the leadership class and was chairman of the student committee for the event this year. “Celebration of Excellence awards students with academic honors and perfect attendance,” student David Taylor said. “It just went great.”

The DHS student council, leadership class students and DHS teacher Nancy Tyson, worked hard to make the event a success on Monday.

“It was great organizing and it took a lot of work,” Ashley Charleston, a twelfth-grade leadership class student, said.

Celebration of excellence student committee member Armisha Perry presented the awards to fellow students at the ceremony, along with the committee’s student chairman David Taylor. “This was an awards ceremony for students of academic excellence,” twelfth-grader Armisha Perry said.

The DHS student council and leadership class also arranged the ceremony’s reception. Some of the other students apart of the class or student council that contributed to the organization and arrangement of the event include Jessica Jordan, Beth Smith, Laketta Phillips, Katie Cleveland, Ambria McKinley and Casandra Davenport.

Academic areas honored at the ceremony for DHS students this year included computer club, A honor-roll students, math competition winners, A-B Honor-roll students, and school science fair winners. Awards were also given to students in community service, business technology and computers, essay writing and law. Students with a perfect attendance a perfect attendance record this academic year were also recognized at the ceremony on Monday.

Among a number of other students, the following students were honored at the event. Lakeisha Moore,11th-grade DHS student, was awarded for perfect attendance, A-B honor-roll and was an award winner in essay writing. DHS 12th-grader Kelli Johnson was recognized as one of the school’s science fair winners. Collins Espy, was recognized as the valedictorian of the 12th grade class, and was also recognized as one of the math competition winners.

2005-2006 Celebration of Excellence award honorees also include: Joseph Barber, Stephen Cochran, Marsh Barber, Shalyndrea Jones, Molly Coplin, Abby Coplin, Virginia Gremmels, Alan Brooker, Elaina Jennings, Brittany Northcutt, Tabitha Stone, Kristen Barton, Rachel Tucker, Melanie Cherry, Anna Graham, Katie Jennings, Matthew Cox, Anna Pope, Katherine Reeves, Preston Ruddell, Anna Stuedeman, Crystal Johnson, David Taylor, Josh Jullian, Lauren Eunice, Thomas Davis, Kyle Tait, Mills Andrew Bedsole, Jacob King, Anthony Lyons, Kiarra Plaskett, Shatoria Troupe, Brandy Ruddell, Shelby Speegle, Alexandra Banks, Allen Hammond, John Mackey, Curtis Vaughn, Cassie Duke, Morgan Baker, Kedyll Creighton, John Scott, Shellie Crawford, Chermonica Johnson, Curtis Vaughn, Charles Throne, Matthew Lee, Lauren Nabors, Sydney Hasty, Stephanie Mark, Christine Chrispin, Terrence Owens, Rachel Tucker, Melanie Robertson, Paul Espy, Markelle Smith, Jessica Ayala, Sarah Cole, Katherine Booker, Candace Thurman, Brian Brooker, Victoria Scott, Jacob Kerby, John Davis, Morgan Paterson, Lizmarie Gater, Matthew Boese, Elijah Davis, Preston Ruddell, Emily Jay, Rachel Tucker, Chris Jenkins, Catheryn Cole, Victoria Barley, Sara Davis, Amanda Mosley, Michael Waldrop, David Kent, Brittany Dahl, Adrienne McNealey, Hillary Stapp, Martez Owens, Adrianna Quinney, Alexis Smith, Angela King, and Josh Jones.