Greene County: New sheriff in town

Published 12:00 am Tuesday, June 6, 2006

Staff Report

In the Greene County race for sheriff Ison Thomas beat incumbent sheriff Johnny Isaac with 2,138 votes and Ronald Kent Smith was named Greene County coroner over Susan Miller.

In the public service commission, seat number two, Susan Parker received 2,640 votes to beat Debbie Murphree and Perry Hopper Jr. defeated John Amari and Jack Hornady. Etta “Bill” Edwards defeated Gloria Mobley and Mary Snoddy with 2,452 votes in the race for circuit clerk while incumbent Earlean Isaac remained probate judge over John Vester with 2,961.

Email newsletter signup

In Greene County Commission District one, Nick Underwood beat Jerry Brown, Bernice Burton, and Garria Spencer. For District two Tennyson Smith beat Hodges Smith. In District four William Johnson won over William Roberson and Marvin Childs beat Jabo Lewis, Charlie Means, Floyzelle Summerville and Willie Webster for District 5.

Thomas Moore beat Eddie Ayers with 2,012 votes for state democratic executive committee member in District 71.

Edna Chamber was named Greene County democratic executive committees member for District one. In District two, Carolyn Young defeated Zapholyn Daniels, Shelia Smith and Amy Wiggins. In District three Darlene Robinson defeated Mary Dunn, Hattie Edwards, Ida Ellis and Darlene Robinson.

For the male democratic executive committees Lester Brown defeated Leroy Bowden, John Kennard and Garria Spencer. In District two John Steele beat Lew Bostick, Fred Daniels and Morris Hardy.

Perry Hopper Jr. defeated John Amari and Jack H