Demopolis Singers receive $2,000 arts grant

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, September 27, 2006

Special to The Times

DEMOPOLIS &8212; The Demopolis Singers were recently awarded a $2,000 grant from the Black Belt Community Foundation, which was made possible by a grant from the Alabama State Council on the Arts.

There are 40 members of the Demopolis Singers. They perform for the public free of charge. They do two shows a year, one for Christmas on the River and a spring concert.

Email newsletter signup

They have been sharing the facilities at the Canebreak Theater, and used funds from the Black Belt Arts Initiative Funds to purchase equipment for the rehearsal room.

The Black Belt Community Foundation was established to support community efforts in the Black Belt that will contribute to the strength, innovation, and success of all of the region&8217;s people and communities. The foundation&8217;s mission is to forge a collective stream of giving from the community and other sources. This mission is used so that the people of the Black Belt may take what they have to make what they need.

The Alabama State Council on the Arts is the official state arts agency. The Council receives their support through an annual appropriation from the Alabama Legislature and funding from the National Endowment for the Arts. A sum of $50,000 was given by the Council to redistribute into the region by BBCF.

The Demopolis Singers are busy in rehearsals every Monday from 6:30 to 8:30. They are working to prepare music for the Christmas on the River concerts. Songs for these concerts includes: the Messiah, Goin&8217; to Bethlehem, Silent Night, March of the Nutcracker, Let All Mortal Flesh, African Choral and other classical Christmas carols.

Johnny Galloway leads the Demopolis Singers. Officers for this year are Braxton Spahos, treasurer; George Bley, vice-president; Katie Echols, secretary; Karen Davidson, president and Kayte Melton, assistant vice-president. All of the officers are also members of the choir.

This year&8217;s members are Ken Mays, George Bley, Kayte Melton, Lindsy Gardner, Will Horton-Jackson, Tommy Vice, Maria Mock, Carolyn Bell, Joe Bailey, Bunny Abrams, George Patterson, Dessie Williford, Lynda Ray, Stella Hughes, Jan McDonald, Rose Marie Woodall, Laura Clements, Stanhope Brasfield, Lynn Brasfield, Danny Wasson, Faye Wasson, Emily Willingham, Jean Gray, Karen Davidson, Braxton Spahos, Emi Wilkinson, Keith Dismukes, Theresa Swope, Katie Echols and Heather Ingram.