Hatter remains Sumter County Sheriff

Published 12:00 am Tuesday, January 2, 2007

Sumter County released the unofficial results from Tuesday’s local elections.

As of Thursday, these numbers did not include a count of provisional ballots and runoffs had yet to be determined.

Incumbent sheriff Johnny Hatter will keep his reign over the county with 3,600 votes to beat Randy Price and Ralph Randolph.

Email newsletter signup

In the county commissioners race, Isaac Bonner received 544 votes over Austin Robinson’s 282 to represent District 1.

In District 2, Murry Campbell got 401 votes to win a close race with Grodie Hall who received 399 votes and Willie Ivory who had 253.

Ben Walker will represent District 3 after receiving 433 votes to Dianne Green’s 216 and Archie Larkin’s 127.

Edward Hardrick received 355 votes to win District 5 over Demos Jones and Ottice Russelle. Aubrey Ellis won District 6 with 429 votes to Steve Springer’s 250.

Bertha Rodgers was elected to the District 4 Sumter County Board of Education seat with 273 votes over Toby Fitch, who was close behind with 256 votes, Jeanette Payne and Jerome Watkins. While Johnny Patrick won a tight race with 423 votes over Adolphus Moss’ 321 in the race for District 5 on the board.

Odessa Mack received 1,568 votes to put her ahead of Glenda Dubose, James Patrenos Jr. and Iola Williams in the race for circuit clerk.