Youth leadership group holds first session

Published 12:00 am Saturday, October 6, 2007

DEMOPOLIS &8212; Area high school students chosen to be a part of the third class of the Youth Lead group, associated with Leadership Marengo, met for the first time on Sept. 25.

The group is chosen from Demopolis High School and John Essex High School. In the past, students were also chosen from West Alabama Prep.

The sole purpose of the organization, as described by Meador, is to enhance individual leadership abilities of area youth while educating them about their city, county and state. Furthermore, Meador said they strive to identify a diverse group of students to become involved in the leadership class.

Email newsletter signup

Once the students are chosen to be a part of the group, they will participate in four sessions dealing with leadership issues ranging from demographics and diversity, economics and recreation to education and success strategies.

The first session of the class included a lecture by Dr. Ken Tucker, dean of business from the University of West Alabama, about teambuilding, cultural diversity and leadership concepts.

Later this year, the group will also be taking a trip to Montgomery along with members of the Leadership Marengo leadership group.

Meador said the class has been supported by funds and donations from the Demopolis City Council, Leadership Marengo, Alabama Power and other organizations.

Something new to this year&8217;s program is the addition of service projects throughout the year that students can be a part of.

Other service activities planned this year are to help wrap shoeboxes for Operation Christmas Box and helping the Demopolis City Schools Foundation.

Demopolis High School students chosen for the class are Victoria Barley, Tenathius Bassett, Lanni Bedsole, Rebecca England, Jennifer Holmes, Courtnei Horton, Walter Hudgens, Meaghan James, Stephanie Jones, Morgan Patterson, Chelsea Pickett, Lee Reeves, Markelle Smith, Hillary Stapp, Drew Tucker, Quintez Wallace, Tenesha Wallace and Emily Willingham.

John Essex High School students chosen for the class are Willie Daniels, Zack Fluker, and Amelia Hackworth.

The board members for Youth Lead are Catherine Meador, chairman; Nancy Tyson, vice chairman; Kayte Melton, treasurer; Lucinda Mason, secretary; Katie Echols, Kathryn Friday and Braxton Spahos. The two student representatives on the board who were participants in last year&8217;s class are Hannah Stephens and Shelby Pierce.