Board recognizes teachers

Published 12:00 am Monday, February 25, 2008

DEMOPOLIS &045; After first being chosen as teachers of the year to represent each of the four schools in the Demopolis City School system, the four teachers were also recognized with additional honors at Tuesday’s board meeting.

As Superintendent Dr. Wayne Vickers explained, in years past the schools each chose a teacher of the year. This year, however, these teachers are being nominated for the Alabama Teacher of the Year and the Jacksonville Hall of Fame Teachers, two programs designed to honor the work teachers do in the state.

The two system-wide nominees for the Jacksonville Hall of Fame Teachers were Tammy Spruell for the elementary division and Rollie McCall for the middle school and secondary division.

Email newsletter signup

The two system-wide nominees for the Alabama Teacher of the Year were Amelia Mackey for the elementary division and Sidney Chasteen for the secondary division.

Earlier this school year, all four of these teachers were recognized by their schools as teachers of the year. They were each presented with plaques on behalf of the school board.

Administrative reports

Westside Elementary principal Connie Brown reported all the teachers are moved into their new classrooms. Also, all the resource material being housed in the cafeteria has been moved into the new addition.

Dr. Tony Speegle, principal at U.S. Jones Elementary, reported his school has been selected as an AMSTI school, a school that participates in the Alabama Math, Science and Technology Initiative. The program requires teachers to spend two weeks out of two summers taking courses to improve their teaching in math, science and technology areas.

DHS improvements

As roof construction on the high school nears completion, Vickers said construction crews have already begun working on the next phase of improvements, which includes a four-classroom expansion. The expected completion date for the project is July 15, Vickers said.

In other business the board:

-Approved the state adopted textbook list from which to choose textbooks, pending the recommendation of the textbook committee for each school.

-Approved spring field trips for all four schools.