DCSF honors donors

Published 5:26 pm Thursday, July 17, 2008

Some 70 members of the Demopolis City Schools Foundation gathered for its ninth annual Appreciation Celebration at the Demopolis Civic Center, recognizing contributors for helping to provide funding for Foundation projects.

“We take for granted that government will provide for education,” Foundation President High A Lloyd said in a letter read to the assembly. “The Foundation ensures that we have more than adequate education … accountability for education of our children starts with us.”

Lloyd’s letter was read by Vice-President Amy Webb. Lloyd was out of town on business and could not attend the event.

Email newsletter signup

In all, 32 individuals and organizations were recognized for their contributions, which have helped to allow the Foundation to make nearly $500,000 in grants since its inception in 1994.

The Foundation presents an engraved chair to donors who, over time, contribute $25,000 or more. This year, Louis Webb Reynolds accepted the chair on behalf of the John C. Webb III and Marie Suttle Webb Foundation, making 15 chairs presented to date.

The Webb Foundation continues to support the Foundation. Judge Claud Neilson, chairman of the capital campaign, announced during the luncheon that another $5,000 from the Webb Foundation was donated enabling the Foundation to establish an endowment in Reynold’s honor.

The Foundation now ahs 20 such named endowments.

Engraved lamps were awarded for contributions of $5,000 or more during the year. Accepting on behalf of Robertson Banking Company was John Northcutt and Robert Stamback received the lamp for CEMEX, Inc.

Unable to attend, but also receiving lamps were Bryan W. Compton Jr. and a representative from Friends of Education.

Patrons of the Foundation who contributed at least $1,000 during the year were presented plaques featuring artwork by a U.S. Jones Elementary School student. Myles DeGraffenreid’s work was chose for this year.

Patrons receiving plaques were: Mr. and Mrs. Woody Collins, Carolyn S. McCormick, Irma Parr and Jim Parr for Parr’s, Inc., Mr. and Mrs. Claud Neilson, T.M. Culpepper and Tom Culpepper for Culpepper’s Electric, Olen Kerby for Commercial Bank, Mr. and Mrs. Drew Johnson, Alex J. Roberson and Ronnie Snelgrove for Alabama Power. Patrons not in attendance were Linden Lumber Company, Mr. and Mrs. Dan Wilson, Dr. Paul Ketcham, Gulf States Paper Corp. and John Cox Webb IV.

Partners contribute at least $500 during the year. Receiving certificates were Ronald Roberts, Mr. and Mrs. Fred Rutledge, Mr. and Mrs. Travis Burnham, Alvin Williams for New Era Cap Company, Louise Reynolds, Mike Grayson for the Demopolis Rotary Club, Patty Horton for Mr. and Mrs. William Horton and Jim Hudgens. Other partners were Virginia Coker Abrams, Marengo Insurance Agency, Clay C. Long and Wal-Mart.