Sweet Water, Faunsdale elections unopposed

Published 8:48 pm Wednesday, August 27, 2008

While the Demopolis, Linden and Myrtlewood city elections held the attention of most people in Marengo County, two other municipalities in the county also decided their mayoral and city council seats, although in a less dramatic fashion.

In Faunsdale and Sweet Water, each town’s mayoral and city council candidates ran unopposed. Each town has five city council members.

In Faunsdale, former City Council member George Kelley took the mayor’s seat, while former mayor Sadie Stanford, incumbents Ruben Woods and Clyde Ballard and newcomers George McKee and Wayne Averette each ran unopposed for City Council seats.

Email newsletter signup

In Sweet Water, all of the incumbents ran unopposed. Wilbon Davis earned another term as mayor, as did City Council members Milton Etheridge, Jimmy Davis (who completed the unfulfilled term of Sim Lewis), Dorothy Ernest, Ken McClantoc and Champ Smith.