Congress wins District 2 runoff election

Published 9:10 pm Tuesday, October 7, 2008

Mitchell Congress won the Demopolis City Council District 2 runoff election last night, garnering 201 votes to Charles E. Jones Jr.’s 132, winning 60.4 percent to 39.6 percent.

That election was the sole runoff election for the City of Demopolis. Results from the Myrtlewood mayoral runoff election between Dr. Fred Sakon and Mitchell Hall were not available at press time.

In the Aug. 26 election, which also featured Alex J. Roberson in the District 2, Jones had the most votes, taking in 183, while Congress had 148 and Roberson 105.

Email newsletter signup

“I worked hard,” Congress said of his campaigning for the runoff election. “I went after Mr. Roberson’s voters, and I got a lot of people that did not participate in the first go-round. I went through the voters lists and saw who did not vote the first time. I made an appeal to the people and went door-to-door three times, and it paid off. And, I prayed a lot. I give God the credit. I prayed a lot about this, and I worried about it, and I worked hard.

“Charles and I vowed to make it a clean campaign, and we did. I’m so happy. I’m happy the Lord has allowed me to return to the council.”

After six weeks of campaigning prior to the Aug. 26 election and six more weeks on top of that, Congress was happy to see his election season come to an end.

“I feel great,” he said. “I’m happy, and I’m really ready to go to work for the people of District 2 and to join with (mayor-elect) Mike (Grayson) and the other council members and move Demopolis forward.”

“I want to congratulate Mitchell on his win tonight,” Grayson said. “I also want to congratulate both he and Charles for running such an admirable campaign. I look forward to working with Mitchell when the council is sworn in on Nov. 3.”

In the Aug. 26 election, 436 voters took part, with only 333 voters going to the National Guard Armory for yesterday’s runoff election.

Congress noted that he served on the council previously, from 1988 to 1992 during Austin Caldwell’s tenure as mayor of Demopolis.

Congress joins Grayson and incumbent Demopolis City Council members Thomas Moore of District 1, Melvin Yelverton of District 3 and Jack Cooley of District 5 as well as newly-elected council member Bill Meador Jr. of District 4. The mayor and council will be sworn in on Nov. 3.