Demopolis runoff election made official

Published 10:21 pm Tuesday, October 14, 2008

The results of the Oct. 7 runoff election for Demopolis’s District 2 representative were made official on Monday after being canvassed by the Demopolis City Council at a special noon meeting at Rooster Hall.

Present were mayor Cecil P. Williamson and Demopolis City Council members Woody Collins, Thomas Moore and Melvin Yelverton.

There were no changes from the tally taken on Oct. 7. Of the 333 votes cast, Mitchell Congress had 201 votes to 132 for Charles E. Jones Jr.

Email newsletter signup

There were 31 absentee ballots cast in the runoff, with 26 of those votes going to Congress and five to Jones.

“We will verify with a certificate of election that Mitchell Congress has been duly elected,” said Williamson, who called for a motion to that effect. The motion was passed unanimously.

Congress will be sworn in as the District 2 representative on Nov. 3, and will join mayor-elect Mike Grayson, newly-elected council member Bill Meador Jr. of District 4 and incumbents Thomas Moore of District 1, Melvin Yelverton of District 3 and Jack Cooley of District 5.