165 take part in Jingle Bell 5K Run

Published 10:22 pm Wednesday, December 10, 2008

The 2008 Jingle Bell Run had 165 participants, the most ever, according to race organizer Johnny Brooker.

The 5-kilometer (3.1-mile) run began at the post office in downtown Demopolis, went southon Walnut Avenue to Jefferson Street, west to Main Avenue, south to Pettus Street, west to Commissioners Avenue, then south to Barnes Street. The runners then went west to McGee Avenue, back up to Pettus Street, went north on Commissioners all the way to Childress Street at the city landing, then turned south on Main Avenue to Lyon Street. Runners headed east on Lyon, turned south on Cedar Avenue, then west on Capitol Street before turning left at the post office and ending one block south at Washington Street.

Overall winners included Camden Holmes taking first place in the men’s overall run, while Carolyn Mancuso won the women’s overall championship. Daniel Lovette placed second in the men’s overall, followed by Justin Blanchard, while Fran Ranford was second in the women’s overall, followed by Allison Tucker.

Email newsletter signup

John Dickinson won the men’s masters (40 and over) category, while Frannie James won the women’s masters title.

Other finalists included:

Girls’ 9 and under: Ashley Lyons, first.

Boys’ 10-14: Gray Scarbrough, first; Nathan Hay, second; Andrew Gwin, third.

Girls’ 10-14: Tanner Morris, first.

Boys’ 15-19: Tyler Brooker, first; Trent McDowell, second; Alan Brooker, third.

Girls’ 15-19: Maria Brooker, first; Brandi McGee, second; Daniell Partridge, third.

Men’s 20-24: Matthew Phillips, first; Joseph Farley, second; B.J. Bonner, third.

Women’s 20-24: Alison Elmore, first; Jenna Cook, second; Bethany Telehany, third.

Men’s 25-29: Jed Dezelle, first; Grey Bedsole, second; Guy Roemen, third.

Women’s 25-29: randamme Sears, first; Madaline Jacobs, second; Crista Newsome, third.

Men’s 30-34: Michael Dolliver, first; Gabe Aldridge, second; Keith Jackson, third.

Women’s 30-34: Kristina Bergman, first.

Men’s 35-39: Mel Griffin, first; Kevin Jacobs, second.

Women’s 35-39: Alissa Hammonds, first; Monica Cox, second; Shelli Fish, third.

Men’s 40-44: Gerald Ross, first; Kevin Gramelspacher, second; Gary Brown, third.

Women’s 40-44: Krystal Rigsbi, first; Donna Rembert, second.

Men’s 45-49: Harris Hurst, first; Phil Bonds, second; Isaac Espy, third.

Women’s 45-49: Condy Bonner, first; Shonna tatum, second; Jean Stelman, third.

Men’s 50-54: Woody Dinning, first; Joel Gordy, second; Tony Roberson, third.

Women’s 50-54: Jannie Kirkland, first; Deborah Cook, second; Karen Robinson, third.

Men’s 55-59: Paul Telehart, first; Steve Nelko, second; Pete Peppenhorst, third.

Women’s 55-59: Cindy Reeves, first; Barbara Sessions, second; Elaine Carr, third.

Men’s 60-64: Richard Snow, first.

Women’s 60-64: Norma Jones, first; Ann Ash, second.

Men’s 65-69: Thomas Melton, first.

Men’s 85 and over: Henry Harrison, first.