AHSAA shuffles Region lineup

Published 1:40 pm Wednesday, November 4, 2009

The Alabama High School Athletic Association released its new classification alignments for the 2010-2012 seasons Wednesday.

The biggest movements for Black Belt schools came at the Class 1A level. Sweet Water will remain in Region 1 along with Marengo and Mcintosh, as well as mainstays Fruitdale and Coffeeville. The Bulldogs will be joined in Region 1 by Linden and A.L. Johnson and newcomer Saint Lukes of Mobile County.

John Essex and Sunshine will move to Region 4, where they will contend with Holy Spirit, Maplesville, Autaugaville, Shades Mountain Christian, Picken County and Keith.

Email newsletter signup

In Class 5A, Demopolis remains in Region 3 along with Chilton County, Greenville, Selma and Wilcox-Central. Formerly a seven-team grouping, Region 3 loses Carver-Montgomery to the 6A level and watches Monroe County drop to Class 4A. Those schools are replaced by Tuscaloosa institutions Brookwood, Central-Tuscaloosa and Paul Bryant, bringing Region 3 to an eight-team area.

Other Black Belt schools include the following: Sumter County, Greensboro and Hale County are Class 3A. Livingston remains in Class 4A. Thomasville stays in Class 4A along with Jackson. Clarke County will be in Class 3A.