County ballots finalized as primary nears

Published 10:39 pm Tuesday, April 13, 2010

The Marengo County Probate Office released the list of candidates that will appear in the June 1 primary election.

Marengo County Probate Judge Cindy Neilson said that those races in which someone is running unopposed in his party will not be on the ballot. The winners of the primaries will square off in the general election on Nov. 2.

The deadline for candidates to apply to be placed on the ballot was April 2.

Email newsletter signup

Here is a listing of those running for office:

Sheriff (Democratic Party): Richard E. “Ben” Bates, John N. Brown, Robert Clayton, Bucky Dailey, Randy Sanders, Dennis Spence.

Sheriff (Republican Party): Bobby Duke.

Coroner (Democratic Party): Stuart Eatmon Jr. (incumbent).

County Commission District 1: Freddy Armstead (incumbent), Willard Williams.

County Commission District 3: John Crawford Jr. (incumbent), Kelvin Robertson Jr.

County Commission District 5: Sam Etheredge, Jerry Lofton (incumbent), Michael Thompson.

Marengo County Board of Education District 3: Clifton McKnight (incumbent).

Marengo County Board of Education District 5: Barbara Rose “Babs” Pritchett (incumbent).

Marengo County board of registrars member Barry Hunt said that the deadline to register to vote in the June 1 primaries is Friday, May 21.

The last date to register to vote in the July 13 runoff (if it is necessary) is Friday, July 2. Runoff elections take place if no candidate receives a majority (more than 50 percent) of the vote in the primary.

The last date to register to vote in the Nov. 2 general election is Friday, Oct. 22.

“The last day to make application for an absentee ballot is May 27,” Hunt said. “The last day to bring in or postmark absentee ballots is May 31.”

For more information about registering to vote, contact the board of registrars at 295-2249.