Marengo added to disaster declaration list

Published 7:13 pm Friday, April 29, 2011

Two additional counties have been designated for disaster assistance to households and businesses as part of Alabama’s federal disaster declaration, according to officials from the Federal Emergency Management Agency. The latest counties are Sumter and Marengo.

Counties previously designated are Cullman, DeKalb, Franklin, Jefferson, Lawrence, Marshall, Tuscaloosa and Walker.

Individual Assistance for homeowners and renters can include grants to help pay for temporary housing, home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses not met by insurance or other assistance programs. Also low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration are available to cover residential and businesses losses not fully compensated by insurance.

Email newsletter signup

Affected survivors and business owners in the newly designated counties may apply for assistance by calling FEMA’s toll-free registration number, 800-621-FEMA (3362). The hearing or speech impaired can use the TTY line at 800-462-7585. The registration lines are available from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m., local time. An application may also be completed online by going to