Drought brings emergency declaration

Published 5:01 pm Friday, July 13, 2012

Farmers in nearly half of Alabama’s counties will be eligible for low-interest federal loans as a result of a drought emergency declaration by U.S. Agriculture Secretary Thomas Vilsack.

Another 12 counties, included Marengo, are also eligible for assistance.

“While much of the state has received rain this week, it is not enough to eliminate the severe and extreme drought conditions that many places are experiencing,” said Alabama Gov. Robert Bentley. “Farmers across Alabama are suffering through what has been extended drought from last year. We appreciate Secretary Vilsack’s response to this critical situation that affects so many Alabama families.”

Email newsletter signup

The following counties were designated “primary natural disaster areas” suffering from severe or extreme drought: Autauga, Baldwin, Barbour, Bibb, Bullock, Butler, Chambers, Chilton, Clay, Cleburne, Coffee, Conecuh, Coosa, Covington, Crenshaw, Dale, Dallas, Elmore, Escambia, Geneva, Henry, Houston, Lee, Lowndes, Macon, Montgomery, Perry, Pike, Randolph, Russell, Talladega, Tallapoosa and Wilcox.

An additional 12 counties were named as “contiguous disaster counties.” Those are also eligible for federal low-interest loans and include: Calhoun,Cherokee, Clarke, Hale, Jefferson, Marengo, Mobile, Monroe, St. Clair, Shelby, Tuscaloosa and Washington.

“There are many growers of commodity crops such as corn, soybeans, cotton and peanuts, who have suffered damage from the drought,” said Commissioner McMillan of the Alabama Department of Agriculture and Industries.  “Farmers should contact their local office of the Farm Service Agency (FSA) to determine their eligibility and begin the process for loan application.”

Additional counties could be added to the declaration in the coming weeks as the USDA Drought Monitor (http://droughtmonitor.unl.edu) provides weekly reports on drought conditions.  The counties declared as primary natural disaster areas this week have faced severe drought conditions for at least eight consecutive weeks or extreme drought conditions at any time during the growing season.

McMillan noted that farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of a secretarial disaster declaration to apply for emergency loan assistance.  FSA will consider each emergency loan application based on objective standards with regard to production losses, security available and repayment ability.