Many local elections unopposed

Published 12:23 pm Wednesday, August 29, 2012

While Demopolis saw three of its city council seats change Tuesday, candidates in several Marengo County municipalities had no opposition.

In Sweet Water, incumbent Mayor Wilbon Davis won the race with 65 votes to challenger Samantha Bouler Ray, who claimed 19 votes.

The returning Sweet Water council members went unopposed Milton Etheridge, Place 1; Dorothy Ernest, Place 2; Ken McClantoc, Place 3; Jimmy Davis, Place 4; and Virgil Smith, Place 5.

Email newsletter signup

Myrtlewood will see a new mayor in their town hall, Jane Vick won the mayoral race with 57 votes against her challengers Joe Beverly (26 votes) and Gilmore Peak (3 votes). The incumbent Mitchell Hall did not seek re-election.

The Myrtlewood council will also see a change with three new members. Patricia Ballard received 63 votes, Robert Meyer received 63 votes and Vicki Mosley received 100 votes to secure placement on the council. Incumbents Jo Ann Bullock and Annette Sansing received 70 and 81 votes respectively to earn another term.

The town of Providence will welcome back Mayor John Ed Crawford and council members Tommy Vick, Faye Porter, Lane Casper and Robbie Cayor, who are returning incumbents that ran unopposed.

The town of Faunsdale also saw no competition for the municipal elections. The returning leaders include Mayor George Kelley and council members George McKee, Place 1; Ruben Woods, Place 2; James Ratcliff, Place 3; Clyde Ballard, Place 4; and Sadie Stanford, Place 5.

In addition to Providence and Faunsdale seeing no change in local leaders, Thomaston and Dayton’s local leaders also return for another term.

The officials for Thomaston include Mayor Jeff Laduron and council members Virginia Skinner, Place 1; Jason Stokes, Place 2; W.L. Drake, Place 3; Willie Pond, Place 4; and Eddie Jones Jr., Place 5.

The officials for Dayton include Mayor Bill Poole and councilmen Clifton McKnight and Jessie Mae Connors.