Hospital auxiliary accepting scholarship applications

Published 2:06 pm Thursday, September 27, 2012

Applications for scholarships sponsored by the Bryan Whitfield Memorial Hospital Auxiliary are now available for students pursuing a career in healthcare. Each year, the organization awards six $1,500 scholarships.

“We began offering these scholarships back in 2005 and have seen a marked increase in the number of applications every year since then,” said Rebecca Culpepper, auxiliary president, “that’s why we make the applications available so early in the school year. The earlier they submit their applications, the better. By starting the scholarship process in September, we strive to give everyone enough time to get everything together so that no one would miss out on having an opportunity to apply.”

This past year, the auxiliary had as many as 45 applications for each scholarship.

Email newsletter signup

“Assisting area students who are interested in a career in healthcare is so important,” Culpepper said, “and it’s one of our group’s favorite projects. We want to make sure that quality healthcare is available here for years to come.”

The auxiliary started the scholarship program in 2005 with the establishment of the Emmett and Carolyn Clinkscales Scholarship and the Carolyn S. (Betty) McCormick Scholarship.

The McCormick scholarship is granted to children (or grandchildren) or employees of the Tombigbee Healthcare Authority. Both scholarships are available to residents of Marengo, Sumter, Hale, Choctaw, Perry, Greene and Clarke counties.

With a total of six scholarships to award in 2013, three THA family members and three members of the general public will be assisted with their education.

“This is a one-time, gift scholarship with very few strings attached,” said Culpepper, who adds that the deadline to apply is March 1, 2013.

Applications have been mailed to the guidance department at all area high schools and are available on the hospital website,

Any individual who is a graduating high school senior or above may apply for the scholarships as long as their chosen field of study is within the healthcare professions.

“We also want to make sure that those who have received or applied for one of these scholarships in the past know that they are welcome to apply for these scholarships each year,” said Culpepper.

Since the program’s inception, scholarships have been awarded to residents of Demopolis, Eutaw, Gallion, Linden, Livingston, Marion, Pine Hill, Thomasville, Uniontown and Ward. Those receiving scholarships in 2012 were: Madison Davidson, Logan Holley and Rebecca England of Demopolis; Reagan Tucker of Gallion, Nataylia Knight of Thomaston; and Jordan Cagle of Sweet Water.

To obtain an application or more information, contact your high school’s guidance counselor, call 334-287-2626 or visit