Lions Club sponsors peace poster contest

Published 12:45 pm Wednesday, November 21, 2012

Demetrius Johnson is the winner of the local Peace Poster contest sponsored by the Demopolis Lions Club.

The Demopolis Lions Club sponsored a local Peace Poster contest. Shown from left is the winner and honorable mentions. Dawson Lay, Demetrius Johnson (winner), Wesley Allgood, Hope Vann, Taylor Vail and Prestoria Davis.

Twenty-four entries were submitted by Meggin Mayben’s students at Demopolis Middle School. The poster was selected by the local Lions Club for its originality, artistic merit and portrayal of the contest theme, “Imagine Peace.”

Five other students also received honorable mention.

Email newsletter signup

Kathi Wilson, Lions Club President, said she was impressed by the expression and creativity of the students at Demopolis Middle School.

“It is obvious that these young people have strong ideas about what peace means to them. I’m proud that we were able to provide them with the opportunity to express their visions,” she said.

Demetrius’s poster will advance to be judged at the district level next month. The winner of that level will be judged at the multiple district level and the International Level is the highest competition.

Lions Clubs International is the world’s largest service club organization with 1.35 million members in more than 46,000 clubs in 206 countries. In addition to its efforts in conquering blindness, the organization has made a strong commitment to community service and helping youth throughout the world.

The Demopolis Lions Club was chartered on November 19, 1947, and has been serving the Demopolis community for 65 years.

Shown is the entire group that participated in the contest. From left on the back row is Montavious Brown, Nelson Haskins, Jackson Lay, Demetrius Johnson, Banks Compton, Zack Chu and Dawson Lay. On the middle row is Tavis Moore, James Jones, Hunter Lewis, Chris Windham, Andy Hoggle, Wesley Allgood and Cameron Dodd. On front row is Tijayanna Kelly, Jasmine Davis, Kimberly Monroe, Ashley Carter, Prestoria Davis, Taylor Vail and Hope Vann. Not Pictured are Chelsea Rude, Madelynn Brooker and Madalyn Colgrove.