DCSF thanks Robertson on anniversary of pledge

Published 12:07 pm Wednesday, January 23, 2013

The Demopolis City Schools Foundation thanked Robertson Bank for its $100,000 pledge, which was made 20 years ago, Wednesday morning in Tracy Stewart’s second grade class at Westside Elementary. Shown above are Gabrielle McVay, DCSF board member and kindergarten teacher at Westside Elementary; Amanda Barnes, DCSF executive director; John Northcutt, DCSF president and retired Robertson Bank president; Kim Townsend, DCSF vice chairman; Pete Reynolds, DCSF board member and Robertson vice president; Bill Meador DCSF board member; Dr. Al Griffin, Demopolis City Schools superintendent; Jim Stanford, Robertson Bank vice president and school board member; Tony Pittman, principal of Westside Elementary; and Tracy Stewart, second grade teacher at Westside.

While 2013 marks the 20th anniversary of the Demopolis City Schools Foundation, this month also marks the anniversary for another significant event in the history of the DCSF.

In January 1993, Robertson Bank pledged $100,000 to the DCSF. This pledge has helped the DCSF buy smart boards, computers and other improvements for Demopolis City Schools.

Amanda Barnes, DCSF executive director, said they wanted to say thank you to Robertson Bank once again.

Email newsletter signup

“We just want to say thanks to them,” she said. “Their pledge has helped us do a lot. They made the pledge before we were officially a not-for-profit, so they took a leap of faith with us.”