Alabama Press Association elects officers

Published 4:22 pm Friday, February 22, 2013

The Demopolis Times publisher and editor Justin Averette was elected vice president of the Alabama Press Association Journalism Foundation for 2013.

The foundation supports journalism education in Alabama. The foundation board meets each year to award grants that support college and high school journalism programs, workshops, an annual job fair, scholarships and internships. They also usually meet once a year on a college campus with journalism faculty and students.

The new journalism foundation president is Darrell Sandlin, publisher of the TimesDaily in Florence. He succeeds Kevin Wendt, vice president of content for Alabama Media Group, who became chairman of the board.

Email newsletter signup

Jack McNeely, publisher of The Daily Mountain Eagle in Jasper and Caroline Quattlebaum, co-publisher of The Southeast Sun in Enterprise, were elected for their first term on the foundation board.

Board members elected for a second two-year term were: Cindy Crawford, editor of the Birmingham Business Journal, and Don Eddins, publisher of the Auburn Villager.

Other members remaining on the board are: Kenneth Boone, publisher of The Outlook in Alexander City; Robert Bozeman, publisher of The Evergreen Courant; Don Hudson, executive editor of The Decatur Daily; David Clemons publisher and editor of The Fort Payne Times-Journal; Brenda Pujol, publisher of the The Geneva County Reaper; Tim Reeves, editor of The Selma Times-Journal; Brad Shurett, publisher and editor of The Daily Sentinel in Scottsboro; and K.A. Turner, state news director for Alabama Media Group.

The Alabama Press Association also elected its officers for 2013.

David Moore, editor of The Arab Tribune, was elected president. he succeeds Lead Gore, statewide military reporter for Alabama Media Group.

Mike Marshall, director of statewide commentary for Alabama Media Group, was elected first vice president, and Tommy McGraw of the Sumter County Record-Journal was elected second vice president of APA.

New board members elected were: Joe Thomas, publisher and editor of The Tri-City Ledger in Flomaton; and Tim Prince, publisher of The Clanton Advertiser and the Shelby County Reporter in Columbiana.

Members elected for a second two-year term were: Scott Brown, director of operations for The Decatur Daily; Pam Siddall, president of Advance Central Services Alabama /Alabama Media Group; Horace Moore, publisher of The Times-Record in Fayette, The Northwest Alabamian in Haleyville, and the Journal Record in Hamilton; and Glenda Curl, publisher and editor of The Wilcox Progressive Era in Camden.

Members remaining on the board are: Michele Gerlach, publisher and editor of The Andalusia Star-News; John Harvey, editor of The Advertiser-Gleam in Guntersville; Ann Laurence, publisher of The News Courier in Athens; Bob Martin, publisher and editor of The Montgomery Independent; David Proctor, publisher and editor of The Clay Times-Journal in Lineville; Russell Quattlebaum, co-publisher and advertising director of The Southeast Sun in Enterprise.