21 local playes make Alabama Sports Writers’ All-State teams

Published 1:15 pm Thursday, December 26, 2013

The Alabama Sports Writers Association announced their 2013 All-State football teams Sunday, and 21 local players made the team for their respective classes.

Marengo Academy led the way with local teams, landing seven players on the AISA All-State Team. Offensive lineman William Tutt and linebacker Hayden Hall were both first-team selections. Hayden Huckabee, Shade Pritchett, Brant Lewis, Alston Dinning and Carson Huckabee were all named to the honorable mentions list at their respective positions.

Demopolis High School landed the second most players on the team from Marengo County with five on the Class 5A team. Roderick Davis, Leif Midgorden, Tyler Merriweather, Stephen Stewart and Demetrius Kemp were all named honorable mentions to the list.

Email newsletter signup

Four players from Sweet Water appear on the Class 2A team with running back Jakoby Aldridge and offensive lineman Tanner Luker on the first team offense and DeAmonte Green on the first team defense. Daniel Sewell was on the honorable mentions list as a defensive back.

Linden and Marengo High School both had two players named to the Class 1A team. For Linden, defensive back Kynard Craig made the first team defense and linebacker Chris Rogers made the honorable mentions list. For Marengo, Jatevin Horn made the first team defense and defensive back Michael Lewis made the honorable mentions list.

A.L. Johnson also had a player on the Class 1A team. Warren Boykin, a receiver for the Eagles, made the honorable mentions list.