City voters head to polls Tuesday

Published 1:15 pm Monday, August 22, 2016

Residents in the municipalities of Demopolis and Linden will head to the polls on Tuesday, August 23, to vote for municipal offices, including mayor.
In both cities, polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Polling places in Demopolis include: District 1, U.S. Jones School; District 2, National Guard Armory; District 3, Demopolis High School; District 4, Demopolis Fire Station; and District 5, Westside Elementary School.
Demopolis officials have asked that voters adhere to the following parking at polling places:
• Those who vote at U.S. Jones Elementary are asked to park in the parking lot across from the school or the parking lot at Morning Star Baptist Church to ensure a smooth flow of traffic for both voting and student activities. Voting will be inside the school’s library.
• District 2 voters should have no problem as the area south of the building will be available.The poll will be set up in the meeting room on the south side.
• At Westside Elementary voting will take place in the annex building or gym on the north side. Voters should park along Cherokee Street. Voters are asked to not block traffic during the school’s drop off and pick up time.
• District 4 voters at the Demopolis Fire Station #1 on Highway 80 West are asked to park along Janet Street. Do not access or attempt to park in the drive or entrance to the fire station from Highway 80. Voting will take place in the middle bay.
• District 5 voters at Demopolis High School are reminded are asked to practice caution as students and parents will be driving to school in the morning and picking up and leaving that afternoon around 3 p.m. Voting will take place in the corridor of the gym.
The polling place in Linden is Cornerstone Church, located at 702 Seventh Avenue East.
In the election, voters will be choosing between candidates for mayor and city council.
In Demopolis, incumbent Mike Grayson is being challenged by four other candidates: John Laney, Arthur Ogden, Thedford A. Rowser, and Don Singleton.
Voters in Demopolis’s third district will also be voting for its representative on the city council where incumbent Harris Nelson is being challenged by David McCants.
The remaining four Demopolis council incumbents are not being challenged in the election. Those who will serve another four-year term on the council include: Charles Jones Jr. will represent District 1; Nathan Hardy will represent District 2; Bill Meador will represent District 4; and Cleveland Cole Jr. will represent District 5.
In Linden, there are three candidates for the mayor’s seat. Incumbent Charles Moore is being challenged by candidates Kenneth Barrineau and Frank Lankster.
In Linden’s District 1, Denny Baynham will face Jan Cannon. District 2 candidates are Jonathan Owens and Mike Smith and District 5 has three candidates, Jimmy Pope, Robbie Smith, and Milton Vick.
Two incumbents on the city council are not being challenged and will serve another term. Those are District 3 councilman William Bryant and District 4’s Neal Jackson.
If necessary in Demopolis or Linden, a runoff election will be held on Tuesday, Oct. 4.

Email newsletter signup