DACC to recognize community awards recipients at annual celebration

Published 9:06 am Wednesday, March 22, 2017

The Demopolis Area Chamber of Commerce has announced its 2016 Community Award winners who will be officially recognized during the Chamber’s 101st Annual Celebration on Thursday, March 23, at the Demopolis Civic Center.

Each year, the chamber asks for community nominations for the following categories: Community Spirit Award, Chamber Volunteer of the Year, Citizen of the year, Business of the Year, and Lifetime Achievement Award. Those nominations led to the following recipients: Community Spirit Award – Claire Bell, Chamber Volunteer of the Year – Daphne Glaser, Citizen of the Year – Jennifer Roemen, Business of the Year – Batter Up, and this year’s Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented to Arthur and Estelle Taylor.

“We encourage you to attend our 101st Celebration as we reflect on the remarkable contributions by these outstanding people,” said DACC Director Candace Dorriety.

Email newsletter signup

Tickets can be purchased for $35 at the Demopolis Chamber office at 102 E. Washington St.

The event begins at 6 p.m. with a silent auction, wine reception, and local musical talent, followed by dinner catered by Slab and More and the awards presentation ceremony. The night will also feature the traditional passing of the gavel, presentation of the chamber’s newest board chairman, and introduction of four new board members.

For more information or to donate to the silent auction, contact Dorriety at 289-0270 or email  to candace.dorriety@demopolischamber.com.