NWS: Tornado Watch for area extended

Published 11:39 am Thursday, June 22, 2017


The Tornado Watch for a large portion of Alabama has been extended to 10 p.m. The original Tornado Watch was set to end at 1 p.m.

Counties under the Tornado Watch include: Marengo, Greene, Hale, Sumter, Clarke, Autauga, Bibb, Blount, Butler, Calhoun, Chilton, Choctaw, Clay, Conecuh, Coosa, Covington, Crenshaw, Dallas, Elmore, Etowah, Fayette, Jefferson, Lamar, Lowndes, Macon, Monroe, Montgomery, Perry, Pickens, Shelby, St. Clair, Talladega, Tallapoosa, Tuscaloosa, Walker, Washington, and Wilcox.

Email newsletter signup

The Urban and Small Stream Flood Advisory remains in effect until 2:30 p.m. as of last notification from the National Weather Service.


The National Weather Service in Birmingham has issued an Urban and Small Stream Flood Advisory northern Marengo County as well as Greene and Hale counties. This advisory is in effect until 2:30 p.m.

The NWS has also issued a Tornado Watch for the following counties: Marengo, Clarke, Greene, Hale, Sumter, Autauga, Baldwin, Butler, Choctaw, Conecuh, Covington, Crenshaw, Dallas, Escambia, Lowndes, Mobile, Monroe, Montgomery, Perry, Washington, and Wilcox. The Tornado Watch is in effect until 1 p.m.


As of 11:26 a.m., Doppler radar indicated moderate to heavy rain continued to spread across areas that have received two to three inches of rain during the past 24 hours. This will cause localized urban and small stream flooding in the advisory area, especially on streets and roadways near small creeks and streams or in low-lying flood prone areas with poor drainage.

Some locations that will experience flooding include: Demopolis, Eutaw, Greensboro, Linden, Jefferson, Moundville, Forkland, Thomaston, Akron, Boligee, Union, Newbern, Myrtlewood, Faunsdale, Dayton, Consul, West Greene, Thornhill, Sawyerville and Knoxville.


Turn around, don’t drown when encountering flooded roads. Most flood deaths occur in vehicles.