Poe named to state SWCC committee

Published 12:56 pm Tuesday, December 5, 2017

Poe filling seat previously held by Meador Jones

Governor Kay Ivey has appointed Capt. Vaughn Theodosius Poe to the Alabama Soil and Water Conservation Districts State Committee (SWCC).

Poe is the representative for Area III of the SWCC, which consists of Bibb, Fayette, Greene, Hale, Jefferson, Lamar, Pickens, Sumter, Tuscaloosa and Walker counties. Poe will be replacing fellow Hale County SWCC board chairperson, Meador Jones.

The State SWCC, created in 1939 by the Alabama Legislature; is tasked with carrying out the administrative functions for the operation of the 67 SWCC Districts and their 355 Supervisors statewide. The SWCC is responsible for collaborating with federal resource programs to assist local landowners in water and land management.

Email newsletter signup

The State SWCC Committee comprises nine members: one district supervisor from each of the six areas appointed by the governor; the director of the state cooperative agricultural extension agency; the supervisor of vocational agricultural education; and the director of the state agriculture experiment station. Committee members serve three–year terms.

(This article was originally published in the Wednesday, Nov. 29 edition of the Demopolis Times.)