DHS Student Council holding fund drive for Make-A-Wish Foundation

Published 8:12 am Thursday, February 8, 2018

The Demopolis High School Student Council is holding a donation drive for the Make-a-Wish Foundation. They are selling blue stars for $1 during February, and the money raised will allow a 5-year-old to enjoy a camping trip with his family.

“Make-A-Wish grants life-changing wishes to children with life-threatening illnesses.  These wishes grant much more than a fantastic time; they allow the children to be children, to have a moment when they can just enjoy the magic of being a child.  It is in these moments they can forget about the scary, complicated treatments and the uncertain future they face,” said Rebecca Pipkins, who is the Student Council Advisor.

Donations of any size are welcome. To donate, individuals can stop by the main office at DHS or pay through the Square Cash app, available on Android and iPhone. After signing in, individuals can type in the tag “$now12” and “Student Council” will automatically pop up. Click on “Student Council”, choose the amount and complete the donation.

Email newsletter signup

“Our school at least wants to raise $500,” said Xaviar Jackson, who is Student Council President.

The blue stars will be displayed throughout DHS at the front office and in the windows. DHS is one of 75 schools that are participating in the donation drive as part of the Alabama Association of Student Councils.

Proceeds from each school’s donation drive will be presented to the Make-a-Wish child at the Student Council State Conference in April, where he will be officially revealed to students for the first time.

Jackson believes that the role of the student council is not just to serve the school and the student body but also to serve the community.

“To lead a group of people—it’s not just about being in the spotlight. It’s to make everybody feel like a somebody,” he said.

Members of the student council are Malik Moore: Vice President; Devin Daniels: Junior Rep.; Joseph Barnes: Sophomore Rep.; Jim Lindsay: Freshman Rep.; Parker Hallmark: Junior Rep.; Xaviar Jackson: President; Michael Osmer: Sophomore Rep.; Breanna Braxton: Parliamentarian; Lula Boone: Historian; Mia Daniels: Freshman Rep.; Sarah Margaret Veres: Junior Rep.; Shelby Gandy: Junior Rep.; Elly Brown: Junior Rep.; Keyerra Jones: Freshman Rep.; Sally Mackey: Junior Rep.; Zaria Williams: Publicist; Napoleon Roberson: Secretary; Maggie Strickland: Sophomore Rep.; Khya James: Sophomore Rep.; and Tristan Mullen: Senior Rep. Teachers Rebecca Pipkins and Pamela Hilton serve as advisors.