Demopolis in run-off, Linden elects new mayor

Published 9:22 pm Tuesday, August 25, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Dr. Aliquippa Allen

Woody Collins

Demopolis voters will return to the polls for run-off municipal elections between Aliquippa Allen and Woody Collins for mayor on October 6. A run-off election will also be held for the District 3 council position between T’Keisha Chandler and David McCants.

Aliquippa Allen received 901 votes, and Woody Collins received 878 votes. John Laney received 239 votes, and Andy Renner received 200 votes.

Incumbent Councilman Charles Jones, Jr will continue to serve as councilman for District 1. Councilman Nathan Hardy will continue to serve as councilman for District 2.

Email newsletter signup

For District 3, T’Keisha Chandler received 147 votes, David McCants received 135 votes, and James Keeley received 50 votes.

For District 4, Bill Meador edged out Louie Padilla with 285 votes to Padilla’s 231 votes.

For District 5, Jim Stanford won the council seat with 336 votes to Cleveland Cole’s 232 votes.

In the Linden mayoral race, Gwen Rogers was declared the winner. Barbara Jackson won in District 4, and there will be a run-off election between Anthony Kelly and Milison Price for District 3.