Marengo County primary election results

Published 2:37 pm Wednesday, May 25, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Marengo County voters took to the polls on Tuesday, May 24 to vote for Sheriff, District Attorney, and Marengo County Commission.

In the Sheriff’s race, current Linden Police Chief Robert Alston, Jr received 2,428 votes (50.89%), current Sheriff Richard Bates received 2,343 votes (49.11%).

In the District Attorney’s race, Greg Griggers received 3,067 votes (64.16 %), and Barrown Lankster received 1,713 votes (35.84%).

Email newsletter signup

For Marengo County Commission District 1, Freddie Armstead, Jr received 535 votes (59.98%), Charles Jones, Jr received 214 votes (23.99%), and Mitchell Congress received 143 votes (16.03%).

For Marengo County Commission District 3, John Crawford, Jr had 625 votes (57.08%), and current Marengo County Commission Chairman Terry Hinton, Sr had 470 votes (42.92%).

In the Marengo County Commission District 5 race, Patrick Champion edged out Michael Thompson with 475 votes (51.91%) to Thompson’s 440 (48.09%).