Whitfield Regional Hospital hosts Years of Service ceremony

Published 3:34 pm Tuesday, May 16, 2023

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Whitfield Regional Hospital’s Years of Service recipients. The employees were recognized last Tuesday, May 9.

On last Tuesday, May 9, Whitfield Regional Hospital held its Years of Service award ceremony to recognize staff members who have worked five to 50 years at the hospital. The ceremony was held on the front lawn of the hospital and a reception followed in the front lobby.

Hospital Chaplain Carl Williams began the ceremony by speaking about serving others and how the Whitfield hospital staff excels in that particular area.

“It’s a very simple statement, but it’s so true. Leaders serve and servants lead. So to those of you who are being recognized, we applaud you because you are leading. You are leading through your service and as servants you are leading the way,” said Williams. “A legacy of service is found in the greatness of character, not money, not fame, or power. I think that’s an important thing for us to remember. To remember that the legacy we leave when we serve is not found in the things that we have, but it’s in our character.”

Email newsletter signup

WRH CEO/Administrator Doug Brewer echoed Williams and touched on how important leadership is in medical positions.

“I feel incredibly blessed to get to do what I do every day. I don’t think you do what these people that we’re honoring do without really knowing why you do it. It’s not just a job,” said Brewer. “Your art is what you do and no one can tell you exactly how to do it. Your art is the act of taking personal responsibility, challenging the status quo, and changing people’s lives.”

Five year service awards were given out to Mallory Smith, Vanessa Mills, Loretta Woods, Madison Stanford, Mary Triggs, Jessie Mason, Donna McPherson, Amanda Mayton, Megan Lins, and Sandra Pearson.

Ten year service awards were given out to Blair Digmon, Jessica Averette, and Nafanzo Glass. Fifteen year service awards were presented to Dr. John Jeans and Amy Bucurel. Twenty year service awards were presented to Angela Bedwell, Bettye Holloway, and Donna Pope.

Twenty-five year service awards were given out to Gayla Culpepper, Deborah Bambarger, and Landora Bullock. Thirty year service awards were presented to Kim Cornett, Randy Ford, and Cindy Parten. Thirty-five year service awards were given to Sandra Dearman and Doug Brooker. Forty and forty-five year service awards were presented to Derek Morrison and Deborah Greene, and Diane Williams respectively.

Fifty year service awards were presented to sisters Esther Murdock and Irnetta Murdock who both accomplished 52 years of service for a combined 104 years of work experience.