Demopolis City Schools named among Districts of Distinction

Published 10:53 pm Monday, August 28, 2023

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The National Beta Club, a high school honors organization, has named the Demopolis school district one of 42 “Districts of Distinction” in the country. Superintendent Tony Willis made the announcement at the Aug. 21 board meeting.

Willis said Demopolis received the distinction because of involvement in Beta Club at all the schools in the district. Demopolis schools recognized were U.S. Jones Elementary, Demopolis Middle School (DMS), and Demopolis High School (DHS).

“These schools were extremely involved. We had a lot of kids who were recognized,” said Willis.

Email newsletter signup

During the meeting, Willis read a resolution that will be presented to each school after board members and Willis have signed it.

The resolution stated that the National Beta Club has over 500,000 active members and 9,000 clubs both nationally and internationally with qualifying students in all eligible grades 4th-12th.

To qualify for Beta Club, students must meet benchmarks in the areas of scholarship, service, leadership, and character. Per the organization’s website, students must have a minimum cumulative grade point average (GPA) of 85, B, 3.0 on a 4.0 scale.

“The Demopolis City Schools has great leadership and understands the value of Beta Club. The honor is bestowed upon school districts who demonstrate a commitment to academic excellence, leadership development, character, and service involvement,” said Willis. “Demopolis City Schools has upheld the four foundational pillars for membership in the National Beta Club organizations.”

The resolution stated, “We extend an immense debt of gratitude to all participants at all levels in achieving National Beta Club District of Distinction status and extend our congratulations on this prestigious accomplishment.”

Sponsors for the Beta Clubs were Rachel White for DHS, Jennifer Helms, Emily Windham, and Jennifer Bedsole for U.S. Jones, and AJ Etheridge and Amanda Smith for DMS.

“It takes a lot of organization and we appreciate each of these ladies for leading,” said Willis.