No Burn Order Lifted Across State

Published 1:14 am Tuesday, December 5, 2023

Effective immediately, all burn restrictions have been lifted across the state of Alabama. Burn permits will be issued as normal by the Alabama Forestry Commission (AFC). This includes 11 counties in northeast Alabama that had been under a ‘No Burn’ order since it was issued by Gov. Ivey on Nov. 9. These 11 counties will remain under a ‘fuel advisory,’ meaning extra safety precautions are required during burning because of the abnormally dry conditions: Blount, Calhoun, Cherokee, Clay, Cleburne, Etowah, Jefferson, Randolph, Shelby, St. Clair, and Talladega.

“Although we still have not received enough rain to eliminate drought conditions in all areas of the state, we are beginning to see a wetter pattern,” said State Forester Rick Oates. “With higher humidities and good recovery occurring at night from dew fall, surface fuels have moved out of critical fire danger thresholds and the chance of significant wildfire potential has decreased across the state.”

Oates continued, “Even with a return to wetter weather, drought conditions persist. Fires can still escape, especially during gusty conditions or periods of low relative humidity (30 percent or less). These fires are prone to containment problems and can burn for days in the organic layer of the soil. If you are located in one of those 11 northeastern counties or a drought-declared area (D1, D2, D3 according to the US Drought Monitor/Alabama), you must exercise extreme caution when conducting any type of outdoor burning. Rake or plow around the pile you plan to burn. Water the soil to full saturation to prevent the fire from escaping the firebreak. As always, never leave any fire unattended; remain with your fire until it is completely out. Ensure that you have the necessary equipment and personnel to control the fire. For smaller debris burns, have a garden hose or other water supply on hand.

Email newsletter signup

Any agricultural or silvicultural fire more than a quarter-acre in size requires a permit from the AFC. Burn permits may be obtained by calling (800) 392-5679. Burning without a permit is a Class B misdemeanor, punishable by up to six months in jail and/or up to a $3,000 fine. The Alabama Forestry Commission is the state agency charged with protecting Alabama citizens and the state’s forest resources from wildfires. To learn more about the services provided by the agency, contact any AFC county office or visit www.forestry.alabama.gov.