Municipal elections set; Voters go to poll August 23

Qualifying for municipal elections in Marengo County ended on Tuesday, July 19, with five candidates seeking the office of mayor of Demopolis and three for the office of mayor in Linden.
In Demopolis, incumbent Mike Grayson has qualified to run for re-election. He will be challenged by four other candidates, including John Laney, Arthur Ogden, Thedford A. Rowser, and Don Singleton.
Voters in Demopolis’s third district will also be voting for its representative on the city council. Incumbent Harris Nelson is being challenged by David McCants.
The remaining four Demopolis council incumbents are not being challenged. During a city council meeting on Thursday, July 21, those candidates were certified to their respective offices. Those who will serve another four-year term on the council include: Charles Jones Jr. will represent District 1; Nathan Hardy will represent District 2; Bill Meador will represent District 4; and Cleveland Cole Jr. will represent District 5.
The Demopolis election will be held Tuesday, August 23, with polls open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. If necessary, a runoff election will be held on Tuesday, Oct. 4.
Polling places in Demopolis are: District 1, U.S. Jones School; District 2, National Guard Armory; District 3, Demopolis High School; District Four, Demopolis Fire Station; and District 5, Westside Elementary School.
Voters in Demopolis are invited to attend and submit questions for a political forum to be held Monday, August 15, beginning at 5:30 p.m. The event is being planned by the Demopolis Area Chamber of Commerce and the Demopolis Area Business Council. Those wishing to submit specific questions to be considered for the forum should email them to
In Linden, there are three candidates for the mayor’s seat. Incumbent Charles Moore will be challenged by candidates Kenneth Barrineau and Frank Lankster.
Two incumbents on the city council are not being challenged and will serve another term. Those are District 3 councilman William Bryant and District 4’s Neal Jackson.
In Linden’s District 1, Denny Baynham will face Jan Cannon. District 2 candidates are Jonathan Owens and Mike Smith and District 5 has three candidates, Jimmy Pope, Robbie Smith, and Milton Vick.
The municipal election for the City of Linden will be held Tuesday, August 23 with the poll open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. The polling place will be Cornerstone Church, 702 Seventh Avenue East.