May graduates announced at UWA

Published 3:33 pm Wednesday, May 22, 2013

LIVINGSTON — The University of West Alabama held spring commencement exercises May 11, with President Richard D. Holland conferring undergraduate, master’s and education specialist degrees from the colleges of Business, Education, Liberal Arts, and Natural Sciences and Mathematics; the Division of Nursing; and the School of Graduate Studies to nearly 600 students. In addition, several special awards were presented to students and faculty.

Anetta Patterson of Union, Miss., and Zachary Riley of Quitman, Miss., each received the Ralph M. Lyon Award, which is given annually to the graduating senior(s) with the highest grade point average. The University Honors Program recognized Andrea Clanahan of Butler.

The William E. Gilbert Award for Outstanding Teaching, which annually recognizes excellence in classroom instruction at UWA, was awarded to Aliquippa Allen. An assistant professor of business administration, management, and marketing, Allen was nominated and selected by the student body for the prestigious honor.

Email newsletter signup

Longtime faculty member Micky Smith was named Emeritus Professor of Mathematics during commencement exercises. Smith is a 1973 and 1976 graduate of UWA (then Livingston University) and joined the faculty in 1981. Throughout his tenure, Smith has taught mathematics and served the University in a host of other capacities in areas of student success and retention, athletics, and environmental programs.

The University conferred honorary degrees to meteorologist James Spann of Birmingham, and education specialist Catherine Valentino of West Kingston, R.I., Each received the honorary doctor of laws degree.

Spring 2013 graduates from Marengo County include:


Nicole Henley – Associate in Science, Nursing

Hannah Wilson – Bachelor of Science, Environmental Science


Rachel Buroker – Bachelor of Business Administration, Accounting

Tammy Conley – Associate in Science, Nursing

Sherilyn Garner – Bachelor of Science, Biology Comprehensive

Melon Greene – Master of Science in Continuing Education, Counseling and Psychology

Rebecca Murray – Bachelor of Science, Mathematics, Computer Information Systems

Danielle Williams – Associate in Science, Nursing

Erik Witherspoon – Master of Arts in Teaching, History

Dixons Mills

Laketia Allen – Master of Science in Continuing Education, College Student Development

Clyive Pritchett – Education Specialist, Instructional Leadership

Amber Walker – Associate in Science, Nursing

Nakarra Young – Bachelor of Science, Mathematics


Savanna Cannon – Bachelor of Science, Social Work

Jonathon Collins – Bachelor of Science, Psychology

Randall Jackson – Master of Education, Instructional Leadership

Ashley Pearson – Associate in Science, Nursing

Amanda Smith – Associate in Science, Nursing


Tamika Dial – Education Specialist, Counseling

Kristen Halkias – Bachelor of Science, Mathematics

Lonisa Sims – Bachelor of Science, Elementary Education

Ashley Stokes – Associate in Science, Nursing


Tracy Stacy – Education Specialist, School Counseling

Sweet Water

Amy Lewis – Master of Education, Elementary Education

Barry Meeks – Bachelor of Science, Physical Education

Mary Robison – Master of Education, Library Media


Elizabeth Mims – Bachelor of Business Administration, Accounting